Have you ever heard an outdated rule or law that made you wonder what in the world warranted its creation? While many of these laws come from the United States’ early days and are no longer enforced, they’re still great for a laugh. We’ve gathered seven examples of strange state laws that are sure to surprise you!
PRETEND PRIESTS PUNISHED
Better be careful this Halloween in the state of Alabama, because it’s illegal to impersonate a person of the clergy! According to the Code of Alabama “Whoever, being in a public place, fraudulently pretends by garb or outward array to be a minister of any religion, or nun, priest, rabbi or other member of the clergy, is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be punished by a fine not exceeding $500.00 or confinement in the county jail for not more than one year, or by both such fine and imprisonment.”
NO ALCOHOL IN THE AQUARIUM
We weren’t able to find the story behind this law, but in Ohio it’s illegal to get a fish drunk. Our best guess currently involves a chef confused about the order of steps involved in cooking fish with wine.
In California it’s illegal for women to drive a car while wearing a housecoat (bathrobe). Don’t fret too much though ladies- this law is no longer enforced anywhere in California.
LET SLEEPING BEARS LIE
In Alaska it’s illegal to wake a sleeping bear for the purpose of taking a photograph. While it’s wise to keep people safe from a grumpy bear trying to nap in peace we’re still a bit surprised that it was a big enough issue to warrant a law being written!
NO DONKEYS ALLOWED
Farmers in Georgia beware! It’s illegal to keep a donkey in your bathtub, no matter how cute and fuzzy he may be.
CONTROL YOUR CAMEL
In Nevada it’s illegal to ride your camel down the highway. But on the plus side it probably cuts down on the amount of spit on the road!
IT HAD BETTER BE BUTTER!
In Wisconsin it’s actually illegal to serve students, patients, or prisoners margarine instead of butter (unless requested). This law is apparently still in effect and enforced as well! According to the Wisconsin State Legislature, the punishment can be rather steep. The website states “any person who violates any provision of this section may be fined not less than $100 nor more than $500 or imprisoned not more than three months or both; and for each subsequent offense may be fined not less than $500 nor more than $1,000 or imprisoned in the county jail not less than six months nor more than one year.” Now that’s what we call dairy devotion!
*Please note, all information on this post is courtesy of The Dumb Network, LLC unless otherwise stated. The information contained in this article is not intended to be used as legal advice, and is for entertainment purposes ONLY.